CRA-Wx DMP Program
Katie Coons - The University of Texas at Austin
Distributed Mentor Program Summer 2004

Home   |    About Me    |   My Mentor    |   Project and Goals    |   Journal    |   People    |   Deliverables

About Me

School:  University of Virginia

The University of Virginia has a beautiful campus and is a wonderful place to live.  I highly recommend it :)

Department:  SEAS, Department of Computer Science

I knew I wanted to be a Computer Science major ever since I was forced to take Intro CS in the summer after my freshman year of high school.

Grade:  Entering Fourth Year

Anyone with recommendations on interesting classes to take during spring of my fourth year at UVA, please send them my way!

Major:  Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Engineering Business Minor

As a Computer Science major I have found that many of the classes I like the best also happen to be Computer Engineering courses, so I intend to complete the requirements for that major as well.  I love assembly and I think binary is really cool because it's so incredibly simple and yet so incredibly powerful.


Feel free to email me if you have any questions or need any advice!

Other Information

I enjoy Ballroom Dancing, racquetball, and running.  I compete at the bronze level (hopefully the silver level next year!) with the Ballroom Dance Club at UVA.  I have found that the other students at U. Texas are great about helping me get involved while I'm here during the summer.  Ballroom lessons are available, the officers helped me get in touch with teachers for private lessons if I decide to take them, and there is definitely no problem finding people anxious to play racquetball.  It's hot in Texas, but if you get up early it's beautiful out and the town is gorgeous for running.  There is a giant lake with a trail around it that you can take for up to a 10 mile run.  I have a 12" Powerbook with OS X and I've found the computer science department here very Mac friendly, which was cool :)  My hometown is Falls Church, Virginia and I normally work at the Naval Surface Warfare Center in Carderock, Maryland during the summers.  I'm a diabetic.  I'm considering graduate school and hoping this experience will help me decide whether I want to go away for graduate school or get a degree while working.  I have an adorable miniature poodle named Koko and I miss her dearly.  This is my frist time away from home for an extended period, and I'm pretty excited about it.

My ballroom partner, Jeff, and myself
The UVA Latin Formation Team!
And the UVA Standard Formation Team, I love you guys!
Andy, myself, Anne, Joe, and Chris at New Year's.  Andy's coming to visit me in early July!

Home   |    About Me    |   My Mentor    |   Project and Goals    |   Journal    |   People    |   Deliverables
The University of Texas at Austin